5th ICFAM 2020 (Cancelled)

2020-01-03 14:41:01 RHuang

Dear Colleagues and Mechanics Researchers,

International Association of Applied Mechanics

The 5th International Conference (symposium) on the Frontiers in Applied Mechanics (ICFAM2020), which follows the format of Gordon Research Conferences, will be held in Toronto, Canada, from  August 13-18, 2020. It aims to create a forum for all who are engaged in academic and industrial work related to the field of theoretical and applied mechanics. Its primary objective is to facilitate the discussion and exchange of cutting-edge ideas in connection with current research and development activities in the field of Applied Mechanics.


International Association of Applied Mechanics
State Key Laboratory for Strength and Vibration of Mechanical Structures (XJTU, China)
York University, Canada
The Association for Computational Mechanics (Singapore)


Organization Committee


  • Zishun LIU (Xi’an Jiaotong University, China)

  • George Zhu (York University, Canada)


  • Dr. Gangqiang Li (York University, Canada)

  • Ms. Rong HUANG (Xi’an Jiaotong University, China)


  • Shaker Meguid (University ofToronto)

  • Fangsen CUI (IHPC, Singapore)

  • Lihai ZHANG (The University of Melbourne, Australia)

  • Qing LI (University of Sydney, Australia)

  • Kian Meng LIM (National University of Singapore,Singapore)

  • Guoxing LU (Swinburne University, Australia)

  • Guowei MA (University of Western Australia,Australia)

  • Teng Yong NG (Nanyang Technological University,Singapore)

  • Dorival PEDROSO (The University of Queensland,Australia)

  • Qing-Xiang PEI (IHPC, Singapore)

  • Chongmin SHE (Nanjing University of Aeronautics andAstronautics, China)

  • Shengping SHEN (Xi’an Jiaotong University, China)

  • Vincent B. C. TAN (National University of Singapore,

  • C.W. LIM (City University of Hong Kong)

  • Jianying HE (Norwegian Universityof Science and Technology, Norway)

  • Alex Czekanski (York University,Canada)

  • Alidad Amirfazli (York University,Canada)

  • Jane Goodyer (York University,Canada)

  • Liying Jiang (Western University,Canada)

International Scientific Committee


  1. Daining FANG (Beijing Institute ofTechnology, China)

  2. Tiejun WANG (Xi’an JiaotongUniversity, China)

  3. George Zhu (York University, Canada)

  4. Zishun Liu (Xi’an JiaotongUniversity, China) 


  • Alexander HARTMAIER (Ruhr-UniversitätBochum, Germany)

  • Markus J. BUEHLER (MassachusettsInstitute of Technology, USA)

  • Nimal  Rajapakse (SimonFraser University, Canada)

  • Shaker Meguid (University ofToronto)

  • Yumin CHENG (Shanghai University,China)

  • Qian DING (Tianjin University,China)

  • Bjørn SKALLERUD (NorwegianUniversity of Science and Technology, Norway)

  • Davide Bigoni (Universita' diTrento - Via Mesiano, Italy)

  • Xi-Qiao FENG (Tsinghua University,China)

  • Yuantong GU (Queensland Universityof Technology, Australia)

  • Heow Pueh LEE (National Universityof Singapore, Singapore)

  • Bin LIU (Tsinghua University,China)

  • Zishun LIU (Xi’an JiaotongUniversity, China)

  • Guoxing LU (Swinburne University,Australia)

  • Priyan MENDIS (The University ofMelbourne, Australia)

  • Shengping SHEN (Xi’an JiaotongUniversity, China)

  • C. M. WANG (The University ofQueensland, Australia)

  • Lin YE (University of Sydney,Australia)

  • Jianying HE (Norwegian University of Science andTechnology, Norway)

  • Lihai ZHANG (The University of Melbourne, Australia)

  • K.M. LIEW (City University of Hong Kong)

  • Zhigang Suo (Harvard University, USA)

  • Xuanhe ZHAO (Massachusetts Institute of Technology,USA)

  • Xiaoyu Luo (University of Glasgow, UK)

  • Nick HILL (University of Glasgow, UK)

  • Jean ZU (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA)

  • Maenghyo CHO (Seoul National University, Korea)

  • Boris Potapov (Moscow Institute of Physics andTechnology, Russia)  

  • Zengtao Chen (University of Alberta, Canada)

  • Hossam Kishawy (Ontario Tech University, Canada)

Important Dates

First Announcement:    1 Nov. 2019
Final Announcement:    10 Jan. 2020

Registration Opens:      15 Feb. 2020
Registration Closed:     15 June 2020

Symposium:                  13-18 August 2020


All attendees of this symposium are invited to submit their work for publication consideration as an article in the following journals

International Journal of Applied Mechanics (IJAM);

International Journal of Computational Materials Science and Engineering (IJCMSE);

International Journal of Space Science and Engineering

All 2-4 pages short papers will be published in the book of “Frontiers in Applied Mechanics 2020” that will be published in prestigious publisher.


On Campus Hotel (4 stars)

Schulich School of Business

York University, 4700 Keele Street

Toronto, Ontario M3J 1P3

Phone: (416) 650-8300

Fax: (416) 650-8333

Email: reservations@schulich.yorku.ca

Web: http://www.acc-schulichexecutiveconferencecentre.com/rooms.html   

Bed & Breakfast: $164/day

Off-Campus Accommodation (close to York University)

1.   Holiday Inn Express Toronto – North York   (around $135/night)

      (416) 665-3500

2.   Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites (4 stars) (around $130/night)

3.   Comfort Inn Toronto North (3.5 stars) (around $118/night)

      (416) 736-4700

Or people can choose to stay near subway line.

Registration Fees (USD)


Early Bird
Until 15/05/2020

Until 15/6/2020

After 13/08/2020
or On-Site



Not Available

Not Available

Regular Registrant/IAAM Member




Regular Registrant/Non IAAM Member





Submit your Detailed Abstract now (Word TemplateInternational Association of Applied MechanicsTemplateof New FAM_LIU_ZS.docx )